(empowerment): Bash Scripting – Intro

Hello Bash Scripting! Hello world! – “Unicorns, penguins and frogs…

All you need is a Linux shell! – “I do have a Linux shell!”

…and the will to learn how to empower yourself – “I am determined to learn

What are you waiting for? – “Nothing, let me start this journey!

Hi guys! It’s great to have you here! You are part of my journey into a new world, the world of the terminal, white text on black background. I hope you may be inspired or you may inspire me. In both cases, it’s a win-win situation.

Let me tell you how everything started. Usually it’s a matter of motivation. Motivation came after a conversation with a colleague. He said something like this:

“You may have ten processors on your machine. Top hardware, top software. But if I don’t see a powerful and customized shell, so that you can automate most of the boring stuff you have to deal with daily, well, my dear friend, you’re just a kid wasting the potential of a good tool.”

I was thinking about the wasted time and potential, repeating same boring stuff over and over again. Isolating the task it didn’t look like a big deal, but summing up all those small and boring routines and multiplying per a daily factor, wow, I realized the amount of overhead. They say not to judge the past and look straight, in front. So I decided to start thinking about small and smart solutions.

Bash Scripting supports in automating some of the repetitive routines you may perform daily using a graphic user interface operating system. Click here, click there, open that file, move that file. Many steps a bash script can take care of for you. Once you have written the script, you just need to execute it. In the meantime take an extra break, enjoy a coffee or move forward on learning how to find new ways to optimize your tasks.

First step learn, second step practice, third step learn as a habit, fourth step master. That’s the way I planned this journey. Small steps, constant pace, long way.

exit

 

By:


Lascia un commento